Red Seersucker Blazer

IMG_1107This blazer was made using Butterick 5926, red seersucker fabric purchased from Spotlight and self made bias binding from vintage fabric gifted from a family friend. I french seamed the entire blazer apart from the sleeve seams and the facing edges are all bias bound, and I used the fabric I made the bias binding from to make the under collar piece. The buttons are vintage.

IMG_1113I bought the pattern from Fabric Vision and made no alterations to it apart from as mentioned above with binding the edges.

IMG_1082IMG_1085

7 thoughts on “Red Seersucker Blazer

  1. Hi, what a lovely jacket! (And the rest of the outfit!) .. This might be a silly question, I’m new to sewing lol, but is this a knit blazer pattern? And if so did you still cut the size indicated on the pattern for your measurements? I love the look of the shape but would like to try it in a woven rather than knit, for work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! No, this is a woven fabric. And I cut according to the size I would buy off the shelf RTW in this case I can’t remember if I made the 10 or 12 – I am either 10 or 13 between depending. Usually I find if I measure myself that the size I am recommended is 2 sizes too big! You can also look on patternreview and see if other people have reviewed it and commented on the size. Otherwise check the “finished garment measurements” which are usually on one of the tissue pieces inside the pattern.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

