Still Life with Dropped Waist.

Happy New Year!

Spareroomstyle1

It’s been a bit quiet on the western front here at Spare Room Style, but a very sewing filled summer holiday is here to fix that! At the end of 2015 I cut back to working four days a week to allow for more time to explore my other creative pursuits so hopefully that will allow for a little more by way of work / life balance in 2016 – and more happy sewing time.

I’m also looking forward to being involved with the lovely folk at The Monthly Stitch in 2016 which will keep my sewing mojo well and truly pumping.

IMG_8023

I finished this dress on January 2 so it’s my first official make of 2016. I bought this rather mad fabric for $10 on TradeMe and it was touch and go when it arrived – I couldn’t decide if I loved or hated it. However it turns out I LOVE it! It has a ‘van Gogh is alive and well in the 1980s‘ thing going on that I’m digging. It also drapes beautifully and is a pleasure to sew.

Adding to the whole late 80s / early 90s vibe was a feeling of nostalgia for a floral dress my mother made me when I was about 12 or 13. This lead me to decide on a loose fitting, dropped waist design. (I also saw a sage green dress – which was my favourite colour in 1990 – in a similar style in a shop recently.)

I used Kwik Sew 3380 as a jumping off point for the bodice of the dress. I made the View B neckline with facing but drafted the View A for length. I’ve made this pattern before so I chose to make a size M (I’m somewhere between a commercial size 10 and 12). I know the M is a loose fit on me and would give me the fit I desired.

IMG_8011

Given the sheer amount of colours in the print, and the brightness of said colours, I chose to cut the bodice pieces so I would have navy, rather than say lime green, sitting next to my face.

I then drafted a much less flared, slightly gathered, long skirt for the fit and style I had envisioned.

IMG_8021

Apart from the time spent thinking to realise my design and wrestling with large amounts of fabric in the skirt this was a walk in the park to make. (Disclaimer: I did chose to hand sew all the hems, and that took about 2 hours. But that’s a choice not a necessity.)

I can see myself wearing this dress a lot. It’s comfortable, cool, drapes well, and is fun. It definitely has dress up or dress down possibilities. It certainly won’t allow any fading into the background – but that’s not really me anyway!

Joining in here:

The Monthly Stitch

 

5 thoughts on “Still Life with Dropped Waist.

Leave a Reply

