Award season.

The lovely Linda over at Remake Remodel Recycle has nominated me for a Liebster Award.

liebster-award-2

It goes a bit like this: the Liebster nominee must –

  1. Thank their nominator
  2. Show the award on their blog
  3. Answer 10 questions asked of them
  4. Ask 10 questions to up to 10 new nominees (who have less than 200 followers)
  5. Notify said nominees

So first up, the Thank You. Linda is super talented and I get a lot of inspiration out of what she shows over at her blog. I love that, like me, she is an avid second hand shopper who likes to upcycle. However she’s also got some serious skills in the pattern drafting area, an area which I dabble in, but nowhere near to her level! So go and check her out.

And here are my answers to Linda’s questions!

What has surprised you about blogging? I am always surprised when really top-notch sewers (like Linda) compliment my makes. It gives me a real buzz!

What inspires you to sew whatever you sew? My inspiration is probably two-fold. I love fabric – the colour, print, texture, weave – the whole lot. I love to play with a piece of fabric and see what it wants to be.

I also love clothing. My grandmother was a hard-core fashionista and I am a direct genetic descendant. Sewing has always been a passion because I’ve always wanted my own individual look. While I love seeing what current trends are about I also am 100% confident walking to the beat of my own drum. This quote sums it up:

Fashion says “Me too”. Style says “Just me”.

I spread myself all over the room Iā€™m working in, with no regard for anyone else and become a selfish sewist. What is your most selfish sewing habit? Probably the endless loose threads and trimmed seams that are scattered in my wake.

Where do all the pins go? Can anyone answer this? Yes. They have migrated through the back of the clothes drier to live in the Bermuda Triangle in a loving community of odd socks, underwires and ballpoint pens. If you love them, set them free.

Why do you blog? I blog as ‘show and tell’. I got sick of emailing people with photos of finished garments. Also, it’s really nice to connect with a community of other sewers. It’s like if The Great British Sewing Bee was on every day of the year for the rest of my life.

Tell us something we might not know about you? I speak a conversational Dutch from when I lived in Holland with my husband. I even know some vital sewing words in Dutch!

What is your favourite book? That’s too difficult to answer. So I will say my favourite sewing book is Pants for Real People by Palmer/Pletch. Life changing stuff!

Favourite film? Bullets Over Broadway.

Which catches your eye first, plain or print? What is this plain of which you speak?

What is your favourite sewing gadget?
Not much of a gadget girl so for me it’s my machine. A tank of a Husqvarna that was my mum’s and now belongs to me. Indestructible!

New nominees and questions: Because I’m not too sure of how all this works, and I’ve only really started engaging with other bloggers this year, I’m just going to nominate a handful of people. I read mostly sewing blogs and many of these have come my way via The Monthly Stitch. (Also many of the blogs I read have well over 200 followers!)

  1. Hannah at Mousie Makes
  2. Mads at Life in a “Mads” House
  3. Naomi at BON COURAGE and not just because she has an awesome name šŸ˜‰

My questions for these ladies are as follows:

  1. What do you find most satisfying about sewing?
  2. How much of your time is spent thinking about sewing when you’re not sewing?
  3. What is the make of yours that you are most proud of?
  4. Vintage or modern?
  5. Most inspirational movie or TV programme for sewing?
  6. Perfect finish or quick finish?
  7. What is your favourite special technique to use?
  8. What would be your dream make (if you had the skills to make anything you wanted)?
  9. Other than your sewing machine, what other piece of equipment is your must have?
  10. What special make does 2016 hold?

X

 

 

2 thoughts on “Award season.

Leave a Reply

