How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb(er jacket).

Firstly apologies for being a bit out of action lately on reading and commenting on your blogs. This EQ has knocked me a bit, and I sort of ostriched for the last week. I did spend a lot of time sewing which was very restorative, and also some planning for SWAP. I think I’m *in* peeps!

My sister gave me this lovely wool felt for my recent birthday. I needed a light-weight jacket for the non-winter months and I decided to make a cute wee bomber. The lining is some cotton I picked up at an opshop recently that isn’t great in colours for me, but is delightful for lining. I lined the sleeves with lining fabric for maximum slipabilty.

img_3216

All the fabric is second-hand, as is the zip. All I had to buy was thread and elastic.

img_8458

The pièce de résistance is the back feature: I cut some slits in the back panel of the jacket and wove some of the same fabric through it to create a little woven detail for some interest in the back. While I needed this jacket to be simple and functional, there’s such a thing as TOO simple. In fact in my life, there are many such things!

img_8465

img_8467
Oops – didn’t spot that thread

I used the Papercut Rigel Bomber pattern (seen here and here), cutting the M. I made the following adjustments:

  1. Fully lined it – I don’t like the way the pockets flap about and I also wanted this to be a toasty little jacket. I made a full lining and used the facing pieces to cut interfacing to give some structure to the front and neck sections of the jacket.
  2. Made the neckline into a crew-neck rather than a V-neck. #mustbewarm
  3. Sewed slightly narrower side seams when stitching it together to make a slimmer fit.
img_8462
Photobombing cat

It was all going so well until my cotton ribbing decided to be a little b**** and just sag out completely and not recover. (This also made me realise why I don’t love my Mermaid Bomber as much as I should… same problem. The ribbing bagged out and so it doesn’t feel like a bomber in shape and as a result it feels too big and boxy.)

img_8459

So I did some online research and discovered that 100% cotton ribbing can have poor recovery and doesn’t recover until washed in some cases. So I washed the jacket. The ribbing recovered a little, but not enough. I think that this pattern really needs to be made with a ribbing with some decent lycra content.

So I applied two rows of black 1″ elastic to the underside of the ribbing. I’m not 100% thrilled with the look, but it’s functional at least.

As Alex the Husband kindly points out the weaving detail probably should sit higher. But what can you do? I couldn’t tell this until I’d made it.

img_8472

So this had all the high hopes of being a couture make that would stop people in the streets. But in the end, it’s doing the job it was made to do.

dr-strangelove-be-optimistic.jpg

And what more can I ask of it than that?!

Outfit deets:

  • Boyfriend style Levis, from a local op-shop
  • Grey Kowtow tank
  • Shoes purchased in Barcelona in 2012
  • Jewelry – all seen here before apart from earrings from this Etsy store

 

30 thoughts on “How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb(er jacket).

    1. Alex is a real aesthete so he will always notice things that could be improved. That being said, he’s a very kind and generous soul and always gives me maximum encouragement, making all the right noises as I show him EVERY.STEP. of my process 😉 and I’m glad for the constructive feedback. I’m just annoyed because I 100% agree with him!

      Like

  1. Great job! And whee you are in! Fun times ahead. 🙂 I love that you just cut out the back and put in the weaving detail. I would have been terrified to do that so this is a good reminder to splash out. I think you did a really nice job recovering from a small detail that didn’t work out quite as planned (the ribbing). As always, inspirational. PS It is completely normal that you have been worrying, but sorry to think of it. Here’s to more restorative sewing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m working on a SWAP post atm Steph. I think you will like the direction I’ve taken.
      I did do a practise run of the weaving on a remnant of fabric to check my idea would work. So I was brave but sensible too!!
      And thanks for your kindness.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay. I’m squealing and I don’t regularly do that. 😉 So looking forward to your plans. My are currently a little bit rocky as I am not sure how to combine some desired elements..shall be an interesting ride!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I had to really think a lot and play a lot before mine fell into place and when it did I was happy. But I discarded several options first.
        Your plans are amazing , and I’m sure you will work out how to get it all to settle into the *rules*

        Like

  2. Well an earthquake is a pretty understandable reason to put a few things on hold. But I am thrilled you are joining in the SWAP. I love this bomber and have one planned for my collection. Very clever the way you used a fabric you didn’t love for outwear for the lining. Very classy- it looks great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kate. I am working on a SWAP post and pretty excited.
      This is a good pattern but I do recommend lining and using an athletic grade ribbing!!
      And I do love using fun fabric for lining, particularly on something so simple otherwise.

      Like

  3. The weaving is really clever – it’s a great detail wherever it is. And I do love the lining. I think a fun lining really lifts a garment into a very classy category.
    I’m sorry you’ve been so worried but very happy to hear that sewing helps. Take care. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I love a surprise lining too, and I’m very happy with how the weaving turned out.
      I’m feeling a lot better now, but I was a bit of a write off early last week!

      Like

  4. I hope the recovery from the earthquake is going well. It must have been such a distressing event so I can understand you needing time off.
    Love this jacket, and love the Dr Strangelove reference! I’ve titled a post after the same line too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Put the elastic inside the ribbing. That’ll hold it all in place. Although I like my rib to be loose and boxy. I love both fabrics and would have made two items, or a reversible jacket. I get freaked out at extreme weather ! I don’t blame you for being an ostrich. ..It is incredible how you can take your mind off things by getting into the creative process. Enjoy the sewing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will certainly do that next time – sadly it was all sewn up this time. I did think about reversible – and apart from the cuffs it sort of is. However I can’t see myself wearing it the other way. But never say never!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

